Who is the most dangerous person the the world?


Okay, what I’m about to say isn’t completely true, but hyperbole aside, I think my point is still valid…

Who is most dangerous? The one who believes him or herself to be powerless but want just a little power to be seen, known, heard, etc. When we feel powerless we do not believe our reactions to others to be anything but a trifle. So, we do not see our impact on others. And so we excuse our rantings as nothing more than a cry to be heard. 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Who is the most dangerous person the the world?

  1. Good thought.

    My response is two-fold.

    1. People who feel powerless and grab at power often haven’t been heard, seen, known. The disciples, who were men of trade, often did this whole power play. It’s especially evident when they are telling people not to bother Jesus, and trying to push children away. Jesus breaks down these barriers and teaches us to do the same.

    After Jesus’ ascension, the disciples seem to have better senses of their identities, of who Jesus taught them to be and who God wanted them to be. Add in the power of the Holy Spirit, and these guys who fault to be first, changed the world…even though they still had issues.

    Again, in the New Testament, there’s Ananias and Sapphira who want the attention others are getting for donating large sums of money to the early church. You know the story, they sell the land, say they are donating the entire sum to the church, but secretly withhold some of the gold for themselves. They want the glory, and they die for blaspheming against the Holy Spirit.

    2. People do need to be seen, heard, and known. It’s a basic human need to be connected with other humans, so we need to do our best to be part of the solution. I know we can only change ourselves and be responsible for our responses. At the same time, we need to be bold enough to hold our loved ones accountable for their actions, but to do so with tender love (nothing like a confrontation done poorly to add to the ranting).

    Since I finished my degree at Biblical, I look at people differently. Instead of always getting upset at their actions towards me, I realize their actions are probably not towards me but directed partially, if not wholly, from what is stored in their hearts. Also, I ask myself–what is driving this action or response? What are the roots? The Three Trees diagram is drilled into my brain, so I just do it naturally in interactions.

    Anyway, there’s my late night insight for you. :)

Leave a Reply

